MONARCH COVE

Okoboji Camp Owners Cooperative

15353 Harmon Lane Spirit Lake, IA 51360

Warren Vickery	Jim Benz	Gladys Shultz	Fred Shultz
Vice President	President	Secretary	Treasurer
712-490-2950	712-540-2126	712-336-8958	402-990-5375

DIRECTORS

Dan Bennett – 712-490-6553, Sandra Bowman – 785-597-5230 Debbie Earleywine 402-650-1715 Kristin Jacobi – 402-215-7574 Tim Kennedy – 507-420-1227, Mark Lemke – 712-339-1848 Allan Sieck – 515-314-8807

NOTE: Member Payments are to be mailed to: P.O. Box 47, Spirit Lake, IA 51360

MINUTES MONARCH COVE ANNUAL MEETING July 28, 2018

President Jim Benz called the 2018 Monarch Cove Annual Meeting to order at 10:04 a.m. on Saturday July 28, 2017.

0

Derek Bergman, the Director of the United Methodist Camp, spoke to the members about current camp activities and future building plans.

0

President Benz read the list of new members since our 2017 Annual Meeting and introduced those new members who were present at the annual meeting.

The new members are:

- <u>Lauren Holderness</u>. Lauren bought the Mary Lou James home at 21190 5th Lane.
- <u>Ian & Abby Banks</u>. Ian and Abby bought the Tjaden home at 15465 213th Ave.
- <u>Dave & Jenny Erkes</u>. Dave and Jenny bought the Scaletta home at 21342 Rayine Street.
- <u>John & Kelly Bentz</u>. John and Kelly bought the Brown home at 21325 Park Street.

0

Memorial Committee Chairwoman, Kristin Jacobi, led the members present in a remembrance of those members and former members that have passed away since our 2017 Annual Meeting.

The members who have passed away since our last annual meeting are:

- Andrew Gregory Stoebe. Andrew passed away on 5/13/18.
- John Thomas Clark. Tom passed away on 5/29/18.

С

Finance Committee Chairman and Monarch Cove Treasurer, Fred Schultz, gave a financial report for Monarch Cove. Fred went over a handout that he had prepared for the annual meeting. A copy of this financial report is available upon request for those members who were unable to attend the annual meeting.

0

The next item on the agenda was the election of new board members.

The Monarch Cove Board of Directors consists of nine members. Six board members are At-Large directors who are elected by the entire membership for a three year term. Three board members are Ward directors who are elected by their ward to serve a one year term.

Article 3, Section 2 of the By-Laws require that the President appoint a nominating committee to nominate at least one candidate for each of the two at-large positions to be filled. The nominating committee consists of one board member who shall be the chairperson and two Monarch Cove members who are not on the board of directors. The nominating committee this year consisted of Jim Benz, chairman and Dean Hammer and Don Hemphill as the non-board members of the nominating committee.

The two at-large board members whose terms have expired are Dan Bennett and Warren Vickery. The nominating committee nominated Dan and Warren to serve another term.

Nominations were then requested from the floor. Karen Burten Taylor nominated Dr. Elizabeth Stoebe, whose nomination was seconded by Mark Goodenow. Dr. Stoebe is a family practice specialist in Fort Dodge, Iowa. Elizabeth and her husband, Kurt and son, John, live in the home they built at 15413 213 Avenue, next to the park.

There were no further nominations.

Don Hemphill then conducted the election for two At-Large directors. Ballots were passed out to all members present and votes were cast. The meeting continued while the votes were counted by Attorney Hemphill.

Dan Bennett and Warren Vickery were reelected as at-large directors to the Monarch Cove Board of Directors.

Following the announcement of the vote, Jim Benz introduced the following members of the 2018-2019 Monarch Cove Board of Directors:

- 1. Warren Vickery, whose term will expire in 2021.
- 2. Dan Bennett, whose term will expire in 2021.
- 3. Jim Benz, whose term will expire in 2020.
- 4. Allan Sieck, whose term will expire in 2020.
- 5. Debbie Earleywine, whose term will expire in 2019.
- 6. Kristin Jacobi, whose term will expire in 2019.
- 7. Mark Lempke, whose term will expire in 2018. Mark represents ward #1.
- 8. Tim Kennedy, whose term will expire in 2018. Tim represents ward #2.
- 9. Sandy Bowman, whose term will expire in 2018. Sandy represents ward #3

0

Ward reports were then given to the members by Mark Lempke, Tim Kennedy and Sandy Bowman.

0

Jim then read the list of all Monarch Cove committees, the name of each committee chair and the members on each committee. Anyone that would like a copy of the committee assignments can contact Jim Benz and a copy will be sent to you by email attachment.

Jim then asked Rod Earleywine, Chairman of the Marina Committee, Debbie Earleywine, Chairwoman of the Ravine Committee and Sandra Bowman, Chairwoman of the Policy Committee to give an update on their committee activities and asked them to answer questions from the members.

0

Jim Benz then gave the members an update on the Monarch Cove road project. Jim advised the members as follows:

- Jim said Monarch Cove is on schedule to complete our street project in the fall of 2019.
- He discussed the assessment that is being used to fund our street project.
 - Jim said each member is being assessed \$300 per quarter for 8 quarters to pay for our road repair.
 - This assessment will end with the 2nd quarter of 2019.
 - Jim said the total amount to be received from this assessment is \$348,000.
 - * Jim said that through July 28, 2018 we have deposited \$135,014 into a separate bank account at The State Bank in Spirit Lake.
- Jim said that the board is working with Paul Stensland, an engineer in Sioux City, to prepare engineering designs for the project.
- Jim said that Engineer Stensland will assist Monarch Cove in locating a contractor to perform the project.
- Jim said that if we discover that the project will cost substantially more or less than the \$348,000 that is being raised by the assessment, the Board will adjust the quarterly assessment, either higher or lower.
- Jim said that the Board is working hard to complete temporary repairs on our streets this fall.

0

Jim Benz then introduced Dickinson County First Deputy Sheriff, Tony Petersen. Deputy Petersen addressed the members and answered questions. Among the topics discussed by Deputy Petersen were golf carts, noise, property damage and alcohol related issues. Deputy Petersen said that if anyone had any questions they could call him on his private extension at the Dickinson County Sheriff's office, 712-336-2793.

Dean Hammer then addressed the members about Pancake Benefit for the Monarch Cove Playground that he and his wife, Karen, held on Sunday, July 15, following the Monarch Cove church service. Allen and Carol Sieck, John Sieck, Dave and Pat Harry, Steve Eckardt and Jean Richardson helped Dean and Karen put on the pancake feed. Terrie Thompson brought jewelry to sell and donated the proceeds to the playground fund. \$2,200 was earned at the benefit and will be used for playground improvements to be made next spring.

0

The annual meeting adjourned around 11:30 am

Organization Meeting of 2018 Monarch Cove Board of Directors

An organizational meeting of the 2018 Monarch Cove Board of Directors was opened with Attorney Don Hemphill asking for nominations for officers for the coming year. It was moved, seconded and carried that all officers would remain the same.

The organizational Meeting adjourned around noon.